Russians will lose the right to trade crypto directly with each other on 1 July 2027. The Bank of Russia said so in an update to its answers to practical questions on cryptocurrency, dated 12 October 2026, which explains how it reads Federal Law No. 282-FZ “On digital currencies and digital rights”. From that date, peer-to-peer (P2P) deals between individuals drop out of the law’s list of allowed operations, and residents will have to buy and sell through licensed brokers or registered exchange operators. The same update says an individual may not move coins from a regulated digital account to his own non-custodial wallet.
This is not a new bill, and it is not a full Russia crypto ban. The law was signed on 4 August 2026 and has been in force since 1 September. What changed this week is that the regulator spelled out, in plain question-and-answer form, two consequences that many Russian holders had not read into the text.
Russian outlets picked it up on 15 October. Vedomosti led with the P2P cut-off, and TASS, BFM, Decrypt and Cointelegraph followed the same day.
Central bank FAQ: P2P trades between individuals allowed only until 1 July 2027
The key answer is short. Asked whether individuals can still deal in digital currency directly with one another, the Bank of Russia replies, in Russian: “Yes, but only until 01.07.2027.” It then explains why. Part 1 of Article 30 of 282-FZ lists the operations that residents may carry out, and from 1 July 2027 that list no longer contains direct deals between individuals.
A neighbouring answer sets out who is left. From 1 July 2027, a resident who is not himself an organiser of crypto circulation may trade only through, or with, one of two kinds of firm: a broker holding a Bank of Russia securities licence, or a digital-currency exchange organisation entered in the central bank’s register. The page sends readers to those registers and to the regulator’s tool for checking a market participant.
In practice, that means the familiar Russian setup (two people agree a price on a P2P marketplace or in a Telegram chat, then one pays the other by bank card) loses its legal footing next summer. The FAQ does not say what penalty, if any, applies to an individual who keeps doing it.
Self-custody: no transfers from a digital account, and no start date given
The second answer is the one wallet users noticed. The question is whether an individual may transfer digital currency from his digital account to his own non-custodial wallet, the kind of self-custody wallet where the user, not a company, holds the private key. The Bank of Russia’s answer opens with “No” and cites part 9 of Article 31 of 282-FZ.
The central bank does not state when this restriction starts. Unlike the P2P answer, this one carries no date and lists no exception. Read on its own, it sounds as if it applies already, but the regulator does not say so. Cointelegraph wrote on 15 October that separate rules already prohibit these transfers; Decrypt gave no date at all. We found no official text that settles the point.
What the answer covers is narrower than the headlines suggest. It concerns coins leaving a regulated digital account, held at a Russian intermediary, for the holder’s own wallet. It does not ban owning a wallet. It says nothing about coins already sitting in personal wallets, about deposits coming in from outside, or about hardware wallets.
The law itself, as The Moscow Times reported on 22 July after the State Duma passed it, does contain carve-outs. According to the paper, only companies engaged in foreign trade may send crypto directly to self-custodied wallets, while individual investors must first move it to a foreign custodial wallet before it can reach a cold wallet. Those details come from the law as reported in July. The central bank’s FAQ does not mention them.
Depository transfers and crypto lending: what the other answers say
Two more answers close side doors. Individuals may not send digital currency to each other through identifier addresses administered by a digital depository, the regulated custodian layer created by the law, and that holds even when the transfer is meant to settle a deal between them (part 5, Article 31).
Lending is ring-fenced too. The FAQ was asked whether a broker may borrow digital currency from a client, and it said no: part 4 of Article 30 bars anyone other than a broker, a trustee, an exchange organisation or a clearing house from being the lender in a crypto loan. A client cannot lend to his broker, and a private person lending bitcoin to another private person is outside that list as well.
Bitcoin, ether and USDT, with a 300,000-rouble yearly cap
The menu for ordinary savers is short. Bank of Russia Directive No. 7441-U of 11 September 2026 lists two digital currencies that trading organisers may admit to public trading, bitcoin and ether, each identified by its ISO 24165-2:2025 code. A separate clause adds one foreign digital instrument, Tether’s USDT, under the group code L09Q657BK, and the FAQ confirms USDT can be admitted once the directive takes effect, ten days after its official publication. Another answer says foreign stablecoins fall under 282-FZ whether a firm classes them as digital currencies or as foreign instruments.
Non-qualified investors, the large majority, face a ceiling. The directive caps what such a resident can buy at 300,000 roubles per calendar year, counting purchases made through each broker separately. Decrypt put that at about $3,600. Before buying at all, a non-qualified investor must pass a knowledge test, according to The Moscow Times, which quoted central bank data showing about 98% of Russian investors fall into this group.
The Moscow Times also reported eligibility thresholds in the law for any coin to be offered: an average market capitalisation above 5 trillion roubles and daily trading volume above 1 trillion roubles over two years. Domestic crypto payments stay banned. Since 1 September, individuals and companies may use crypto in foreign-trade deals, Vedomosti noted.
| Item | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| End of legal P2P between individuals | 1 July 2027 (allowed until 30 June 2027) | Bank of Russia FAQ, 12 Oct 2026 |
| Transfers from a digital account to own non-custodial wallet | Not allowed; start date not stated | Bank of Russia FAQ, 12 Oct 2026 |
| Law | 282-FZ of 4 Aug 2026, in force 1 Sep 2026 | Directive 7441-U; The Block |
| Coins open to public trading | BTC, ETH; USDT as foreign digital instrument | Directive 7441-U, points 3 and 8 |
| Yearly cap, non-qualified investor | 300,000 roubles per broker | Directive 7441-U, 11 Sep 2026 |
| Share of investors who are non-qualified | About 98% | Bank of Russia via The Moscow Times |
| Minimum equity, exchange organisation | 15 million roubles | The Block; Decrypt |
| Exchange organisations on the register | 12 (16 Oct 2026) | Bank of Russia register |
| Digital depositories on the register | 8 (16 Oct 2026) | Bank of Russia register |
Russia crypto law 282-FZ: how the country got here
Russia has spent six years moving from tolerance to a licensed, state-supervised market. The 2020 law on digital financial assets banned crypto as a means of payment. Mining was legalised from 1 November 2024, with registration at the tax service.
The licensed-trading idea took shape in 2025. In March that year the central bank floated a three-year experiment open only to very wealthy “particularly qualified” investors. By December 2025 its concept opened the door to non-qualified investors too, with limits.
The bill passed its first Duma reading in April 2026 and its final vote in July. Anatoly Aksakov, who chairs the Duma’s financial markets committee, framed the goal at the time: “Mass use of anonymous wallets and the gray circulation of cryptocurrencies contradict the idea of a legal market,” he said, as quoted by The Moscow Times. Vladimir Putin signed on 4 August. The cap and coin list followed in Directive 7441-U on 11 September, and the first firms were entered in the registers on 6 October.
12 exchange operators and 8 depositories on the registers, Sberbank among them
The registers grow almost daily, which is why press counts differ. Our reading of the Bank of Russia’s register files, as they stood at midnight Moscow time on 16 October, shows 12 digital-currency exchange organisations and 8 digital depositories.
The exchange organisations, in order of admission: VTB, T-Invest Lab, Zefir and Sistema-Crypto (6 October); RNKO Finpilot and ProBank (8 October); Moy Bitkoin and Khlynov bank (9 October); Sberbank and Paradise Technology (12 October); ASPK and TT (13 and 14 October). An exchange organisation must be a Russian company with at least 15 million roubles of equity, Decrypt reported, and The Block added that it must join a financial-market self-regulatory organisation.
The depository list holds VTB, Sberbank, Voltari, Atomyze, Oblachnaya Infrastruktura, TT, Madrigal OIS and Tokeny.
Sberbank is now on both lists: the register files date its depository status to 6 October and its exchange status to 12 October. It plans its first crypto products for 1 December 2026, according to Unchained, which described the date as reported, and Decrypt. The bank said the status lets it serve clients on interfaces they already use, Unchained wrote. Which coins and which channels it will use has been reported but not confirmed by the bank in anything we read. VTB intends to offer retail crypto through its “VTB My Investments” app in November and to open its own exchange in December, according to Unchained, citing Interfax.
Why P2P mattered: USDT after Binance, Garantex and the A7A5 stablecoin
For Russians, P2P has been the main road to dollar stablecoins for three years. After Binance left Russia in 2023, P2P desks and Telegram OTC chats became the usual way to buy USDT, as Journal du Coin pointed out on 16 October. Payment ran through ordinary bank cards, which is the channel the new rules now target.
The other routes have been narrowing. In March 2025 the US Secret Service, assisted by Elliptic, seized the USDT holdings of the Russian exchange Garantex. A successor, Grinex, appeared, then announced on 4 April 2026 that bank-card top-ups were offline, and around 16 April lost more than 1 billion roubles (about $15 million) of customer assets in a theft, according to blockchain analytics firm Elliptic.
A rouble-pegged stablecoin, A7A5, launched in January 2025. It is formally issued by Old Vector LLC in Kyrgyzstan, and Elliptic names Ilan Shor and the sanctioned state bank PSB among the main shareholders. In its first year it moved over $102 billion in about 251,000 transactions, Elliptic counted. The US, UK and EU sanctioned it in three waves during the second half of 2025; the EU’s 19th package, adopted on 23 October 2025, bars EU persons from any transaction in A7A5. In November 2025 Uniswap added it to its list of unsupported tokens. By June 2026 its daily volume was down to $24.3 million, 96% below the July 2025 peak.
Under 282-FZ, Russian savers get a legal route to USDT through a broker, inside the 300,000-rouble cap. The card-to-card route is the one due to close.
Banks, enforcement and the first reactions
How the P2P ban will be policed is not described in the FAQ. Bank monitoring of card transfers is the obvious tool, but nothing official confirms it. Lawyer Andrei Tugarin of GMT Legal said on Kommersant FM that from 1 July 2027 Russian banks must refuse to let clients fund accounts on foreign platforms, Decrypt reported. The Moscow Times wrote in July that banks must reject transfers to unauthorised crypto providers.
Reactions so far come from abroad. Cointelegraph reported that Jan3 chief executive Samson Mow argued P2P trading is harder to shut down than centralised platforms, and that Stepan Uherik of SatoshiLabs said a ban on wallet apps would leave hardware and desktop wallets untouched.
Deadlines for existing crypto businesses: the sources disagree
When firms already serving Russians must be fully compliant is less clear than the P2P date, and the sources do not line up. The Block, writing when the law was signed, described a grace period to 1 March 2027. Decrypt says firms may operate unregistered until 1 July 2027. The Moscow Times reported that providers must be licensed by 1 July 2027. Unchained says registered firms have until 1 September 2027 to meet every requirement.
These dates may describe different obligations, but the central bank has not set them side by side, and we do not pick one. Anyone relying on a Russian platform should check its status in the Bank of Russia register rather than in a press summary.
Europe keeps self-hosted wallets legal and P2P open
Under the Transfer of Funds Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, which applies since 30 December 2024, a licensed crypto firm must check that a self-hosted wallet belongs to its client when a transfer to or from it exceeds €1,000. The withdrawal itself stays legal. MiCA, the EU licensing regime for crypto firms, regulates the providers, not private trades, and P2P between individuals is not banned.
The EU does tighten next summer. Its Anti-Money Laundering Regulation will forbid anonymous crypto accounts from 10 July 2027, when the EU AML Regulation applies, nine days after Russia’s P2P cut-off. That rule targets anonymity at providers; it does not stop a named client from holding coins in his own wallet. EU sanctions on A7A5 also apply to every EU firm, so European platforms cannot touch the rouble token whatever Moscow decides.
What the Bank of Russia has not said
- When the ban on transfers from a digital account to a non-custodial wallet takes effect, and whether any exception applies to individuals.
- What happens to coins already held in personal wallets, and how incoming transfers and hardware wallets will be treated.
- Which penalties apply to individuals who keep trading P2P after 30 June 2027, and whether offshore P2P platforms are covered.
- How large the Russian P2P market is today: we found no reliable figure.
P2P trading and self-custody, in plain terms
In a P2P trade, two people blockchain, où l'on échange des jetons directement depuis son propre wallet, sans confier la garde de ses fonds à une entreprise.">swap crypto for money directly. A marketplace may hold the coins in escrow, but there is no exchange order book: the buyer pays the seller by bank transfer or card, and the seller releases the coins.
Custody is about who holds the keys. On a custodial account, the provider holds them and can freeze or report the funds. In a non-custodial wallet, only the owner holds the private key. Our guide to crypto wallet types and custody explains the trade-offs. Russia’s rule targets the moment coins move from the first kind of account to the second.
Dates to watch
- November and December 2026: VTB’s retail crypto service and own exchange (reported).
- 1 December 2026: Sberbank’s first crypto products (reported).
- 30 June 2027: last day of legal P2P trading between individuals in Russia.
- 1 July 2027: P2P ends; trading only through brokers and registered exchange organisations.
- 10 July 2027: EU AML Regulation applies, banning anonymous crypto accounts.
- 1 September 2027: end of the transition for registered firms, according to Unchained.
Until the Bank of Russia puts a date on its wallet answer, the 12 October FAQ is the most precise official text available.
