World, the iris-scanning identity project co-founded by Sam Altman, wants banks to check that the person on a video call, or behind an AI agent, is a real human. Tools for Humanity (TFH), the company that develops it, launched “World ID for banking and finance” on 18 October 2026. Co-founder Alex Blania presented it at the Money20/20 fair in Las Vegas, The Block reported. The bundle includes World ID for Zoom, a deepfake check that is now generally available; Crypto Briefing dates that announcement to 16 October, two days before the bank launch. Four design partners are named: OpenExchange, Bain Capital, VanEck Funds and Outtake. None of them is a bank, and no price was given.
It is the first World product aimed at a single industry. World had already signed up Zoom, Okta and Docusign to use its “Proof of Human” credential; now it is pitching World ID to banks as an extra check for the moments when fraudsters fake a face or a voice, such as a wire transfer approved over video.
So far it is a product launch, not a deal. No bank has been named as a customer, a pilot or a partner, according to The Block, Unchained and Crypto Briefing. The iris data that every World ID rests on also remains contested in Europe, where regulators in Bavaria, Spain and Portugal have acted against the project since 2024.
Three tools in the World ID for banks bundle
The offer has three parts. The first is the World ID app, described as an identity wallet that stores “Proofs” about its holder and shows them when a service asks. The second is World ID for Zoom, which confirms that a participant in a video meeting is the verified person they claim to be. The third is World ID for Agents, built on the AgentKit toolkit: a person hands some of their Proofs to an AI agent, which can then present them to third-party platforms on that person’s behalf.
AgentKit is not new. World put it into beta in March 2026, using Coinbase’s x402 payment protocol, The Block noted. The bank version applies it to a question finance firms now face as software agents start to act for clients: who stands behind the bot? Coindaro covered a related case last week, when an OpenAI test model spent Sepolia ETH it was not meant to touch.
Sandro Herbig, president of TFH, said “World ID for banking and finance offers a suite of tools to add an AI-safe trust layer”, in remarks carried by The Block. He added that “enterprises are requesting individuals provide ‘Proofs’ about themselves to help mitigate fraud and increase trust”. Unchained carried the same remark.
What the Zoom deepfake check does
The Zoom check compares three images: the one captured when the user first verified at an Orb, World’s iris-scanning device; a selfie taken on the user’s own device; and a frame of the live call. World says any participant can ask for the check mid-call, according to Unchained. When the three match, the person gets a “Verified Human” badge in the meeting, Crypto Briefing reports. Zoom’s own April announcement adds a “Deep Face Waiting Room” that hosts can use to make guests verify before they join.
The tool has been in limited beta since April 2026. A World blog post dated 17 April, “World ID for Enterprise: Zoom and Docusign integrate Proof of Human”, announced the first integrations, and VanEck was the only finance firm named among the beta testers, according to The Block. Zoom said at the time that no data is shared with Zoom or with other participants. TFH has now also joined Zoom’s exchange programme for independent software vendors.
Crypto Briefing says the suite is meant to sit next to the know-your-customer (KYC) checks banks already run, not to replace them. The uses it cites are wire transfers and approvals by executives, two moments where a cloned face on a call can move money. The 18 October reports do not say where the match is computed, or what the bank or World keeps once a check is done.

Four design partners, none of them a bank
The four design partners are OpenExchange, Bain Capital, VanEck Funds and Outtake. The Block says they are helping World “explore” uses in banking and financial services. That is the whole commercial picture published so far: an asset manager, a private equity name and two other firms, testing ideas.
Even the Bain Capital link is unclear. Unchained could not say which Bain Capital entity is involved. Bain Capital Crypto did take part in the World Foundation’s $52.5 million WLD token sale in July 2026, which carried a one-year lockup.
Pricing was not disclosed, and Unchained reported no rollout calendar. A bank reading the announcement learns what the product does, not what it costs or who else is using it.
Deloitte’s $40 billion forecast behind the pitch
To show the size of the problem, World leans on a Deloitte projection from May 2024: losses from fraud enabled by generative AI in the United States could reach $40 billion by 2027, up from $12.3 billion in 2023. Unchained and The Block both repeat it. The figure covers US fraud as a whole, not banks alone, and it is a forecast, not a count.
For Italy, World uses a figure of its own. When its Orbs arrived in Rome in January 2026, the company cited EUR 181 million of online fraud in the country in 2024, Biometric Update reported. That number comes from World, not from an Italian authority.
The best-known case is Arup’s. In early 2024 a finance employee of the British engineering group in Hong Kong paid out about $25 million after a video call in which the chief financial officer and other colleagues were deepfakes, CNN reported in May 2024. Our guide to spotting crypto scams covers the warning signs that apply well beyond crypto.
From Worldcoin token to a fee-paying enterprise business
The bank push fits a turn World took this year. The project launched in July 2023 as Worldcoin, paying people in WLD tokens to have their irises scanned at an Orb, and was renamed World in 2024. TFH builds the technology; the World Foundation looks after the token.
In June 2026, Biometric Update described TFH moving towards enterprise customers: businesses pay fees, users pay nothing. Its priority markets were the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan and South Korea, with US financial institutions and consumer brands targeted in San Francisco and New York. The same report mentioned recent layoffs in a team of about 500 people, which the company put down to a strategic reset, and a valuation of $2.5 billion. A suite sold to banks is the kind of paid line that strategy needs.
Two user counts circulate, and they measure different things. World says more than 18 million people hold a Proof of Human, meaning they verified at an Orb (The Block). Biometric Update reported in June that over 450 million had signed up for World ID, a figure that counts app sign-ups, not iris checks.
Other launches came in quick succession. World Money, a self-custody app with stablecoin payments in more than 150 countries, launched in September 2026. ProveKit, a toolkit for building proofs, opened to outside developers the same month, according to Unchained.
| Item | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Launch | 18 October 2026, Money20/20 Las Vegas (18-21 October) | The Block, Unchained |
| Design partners | OpenExchange, Bain Capital, VanEck Funds, Outtake | The Block |
| Banks named | None | The Block, Unchained, Crypto Briefing |
| Price of the product | Not disclosed | The Block, Unchained |
| Zoom beta start | April 2026 | World blog, 17 April 2026 |
| Proof of Human holders | More than 18 million | The Block |
| US AI-enabled fraud losses (Deloitte) | $12.3 billion (2023) to $40 billion (2027 forecast) | Unchained, The Block |
| WLD token sale, July 2026 | $52.5 million, one-year lockup | The Block |
| TFH valuation | $2.5 billion | Biometric Update, 17 June 2026 |
| Online fraud in Italy, 2024 (World’s figure) | EUR 181 million | Biometric Update, 20 January 2026 |
WLD did not rise on the news
WLD traded at $0.4937 at 05:14 UTC on 19 October, up 1.63% over 24 hours and down 10.77% over seven days, according to Coindaro’s market data. Nothing in the sources links those moves to the launch. None of the reports says the bank suite requires WLD.
Europe’s regulators and the iris data
For readers in France and Italy, the more lasting part of this story is the privacy record. Iris data counts as biometric data, a “special category” under Article 9 of the GDPR, and World has had to defend how it collects it in several countries.
Bavaria matters most, because its data protection office, the BayLDA, is TFH’s lead authority in the EU. On 19 December 2024 it gave World one month to set up a GDPR-compliant deletion procedure, ordered the deletion of some records collected without a sufficient legal basis and required explicit consent for certain steps in future. BayLDA president Michael Will said users would have an “unrestricted opportunity to enforce their right to erasure”, Cointelegraph reported. The World Foundation appealed. Damien Kieran, TFH’s chief legal and privacy officer, said “data anonymization, not just data deletion, is essential” for people to prove online that they are human. Possible fines were left to a separate procedure. Coindaro found no ruling on the appeal.
Spain’s regulator, the AEPD, ordered a precautionary halt to the project’s data collection on 6 March 2024, for a maximum of three months, Observador reported. On 13 February 2026, ahead of a planned relaunch in Barcelona, it issued a preventive warning under GDPR Article 58.2(a), reference EXP202602591. A warning is not a fine. The AEPD wrote that large-scale biometric identification “tends to require much stronger justifications”, as quoted in translation by PPC Land. TFH GmbH has been the sole data controller for Spain since October 2025, according to the same report.
Portugal’s CNPD ordered a 90-day suspension of Orb data collection on 26 March 2024, citing minors and near-daily complaints received between 18 February and 15 March. On 18 June 2024, World said it would keep the pause in place until the end of 2024 or until the Bavarian decision, Observador reported. In July 2024 the CNPD passed the case to the BayLDA. It was a suspension, not a permanent ban, and Coindaro found no final decision on the merits.
Kenya went furthest. The government suspended the scheme on 2 August 2023. On 5 May 2025, the High Court in Nairobi ruled the 2023 collection illegal: there had been no proper data protection impact assessment, and consent bought with a crypto reward was not freely given, Kenyans.co.ke reported. It ordered the data deleted within seven days. In a public notice dated 20 January 2026, Kenya’s data commissioner confirmed the deletion.
Italy is the quiet case. Orbs have been operating in Rome since January 2026, and World says it registers only adults and stores no names, ID documents, images or biometric templates. Coindaro found no action by the Garante per la protezione dei dati personali, Italy’s data protection authority. Biometric Update also lists pushback in Hong Kong, Brazil and South Korea, without details.

What changes for banks and customers in France and Italy
Nothing yet, since no European bank has said it will use the tool. If one did, two sets of rules would meet. Customer onboarding and anti-money-laundering checks fall under the ACPR in France and the Banca d’Italia in Italy. The use of iris-derived data falls under the GDPR, with the CNIL and the Garante as national authorities and the BayLDA leading on TFH itself.
MiCA, the EU’s crypto-asset rulebook, does not cover this product: World ID is an identity service, not a crypto-asset service. Our MiCA explainer sets out where that law stops. Whether a bank in the EU may ask its customers for an Orb-based check, and on what legal basis, is a question no regulator has answered for this launch. Coindaro found no regulator comment on it.
For a customer, the badge only exists for someone who has already scanned their iris at an Orb. Anyone without a World ID cannot pass the check, so a bank would still need another route for most of its clients.
How Proof of Human works, in short
A Proof of Human is a credential saying that an account belongs to a unique, real person. To get one, the user has their iris scanned at an Orb. World says it keeps no iris images or templates and relies on anonymised multi-party computation (AMPC), according to the AEPD document described by PPC Land. The company also says it stores no names or ID documents.
The app then lets the holder show a service a Proof, such as “this is a verified human”, when a service asks for it. The Zoom check adds a face comparison on top, which is why it needs the image captured at the Orb.
Zoomtopia on 20 October is the next stop
TFH is due to present at Zoomtopia, Zoom’s conference, which opens on 20 October, and at Cloudflare Connect, for which no date was given. Money20/20 runs until 21 October.
The milestones that would change the story are the first named bank, a published price, a ruling on World’s appeal against the Bavarian order and the AEPD’s view of the Barcelona site. World’s own announcements are listed on its blog; Coindaro could not open the three posts dated 18 October directly.
